BEAUTIFUL GIRL by Lida James

Part psychological thriller, part coming-of-age story. Angsty, lustful, romantic.
— Melissa Walker, author of ASHES TO ASHES
Exhilarating. Astute. Beautiful Girl is not only an exquisitely written literary novel, but a resonant psychological thriller.
— Mary O'Connell, critically-acclaimed author of THE SHARP TIME
[Beautiful Girl is] so...well, beautiful—the story, the writing, but mostly Nico herself.
— Jennifer Levin, Executive Producer of The CW's hit series BEAUTY AND THE BEAST and The WB's FELICITY
Perfectly capturing the manic, heady delirium of early college, Beautiful Girl will have you longing to relive those days—and glad to have survived them.
— Kimberly McCreight, New York Times-bestselling author of RECONSTRUCTING AMELIA
Raw, riveting, dark, and yes, beautiful.
— Aimee Freedman, New York Times-bestselling author of SOUTH BEACH

Darkness has a way of catching up...

Sophomore year at Dutchess College has just begun, and Nicole is still haunted by memories of her first love. She takes solace in running—pushing herself to go harder, faster, to be the best. So when Nico runs into the maddeningly elusive Justin, she’s convinced she’s found the guy to make her forget her ex—despite the warnings of her friends and her straight-edged running partner, Henry.

But when Nico is attacked in the woods after a wild night of partying, everything changes. Suddenly, Nico begins receiving anonymous threats, and she no longer knows where to turn for help—or whether even her close friends can be trusted.

All she wants is to be one of the beautiful girls—the ones who never have to chase perfection. But in order to uncover the truth, she’ll have to face a past she had hoped to leave behind forever. She thought she could outrun the darkness, but darkness has a way of catching up…

With the psychological echoes of Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Beautiful Girl is a romantic and thought-provoking mystery perfect for readers of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls and J.Lynn's Wait for You. This book contains mature topics including sex, drug use, and strong language. Recommended for ages 17+

Lida James grew up in Brooklyn, New York and graduated cum laude from Vassar College with a BFA in English (and a lot of film credits, too). After working as a camera person on feature films in NYC she relocated to Los Angeles in search of mountains and waves. Once there, she wrote and sold screenplays (and snowboarded and windsurfed). She continues to enjoy living in Los Angeles with her husband and their two children - all shredders like herself - and two rescue dogs. Beautiful Girl is her first novel. You can find her on Tumblr.